This unique museum, known as the Sumitomo Collection, displays rare bronze ware of ancient China.Bronze ware for use in ancestral ceremonies has been produced in China for 3,500 years.The casting techniques and wondrous shapes make Chinese ritual ware unique in the world.The museum's first building, dedicated to permanent exhibition, is divided into four rooms respectively displaying musical instruments, goblets, tableware and mirrors.The exhibits are arranged to aid visitor understanding of the historic development of bronze ware.An ancient Hachiryo (octagonal) Japanese-produced mirror, a national treasure, is also on display.The second building of the museum displays its collections, including Chinese and Japanese paintings and calligraphic works, tea ceremony tools, stationery, old coins and statues of Buddha, in accordance with a specific theme that changes with the season.
Hakuko-kan, located in a quiet residential area at the foot of Higashi-yama in Kyoto, is near Tetsugaku-no-michi, a popular strolling road within walking distance of Ginkakuji and Nanzenji temples.
Address: Zipcode 606–8431 Shimo-miyanomaecho 24, Shishigadani, Sakyo-ku, Kyoto
Access: Higashi-tenno-cho or Shimo-miyanomae-cho bus stop, Kyoto municipal bus
Open: March through June, September through December
Hours: 10:00 to 16:30 (enter before 16:00)
Closed: Mondays (excluding national holidays)
Admission fee: ¥730 for adults, ¥520 for students(20% discount for groups of 20 or more)
The National Museum of China in Beijing has published a book featuring 199 art objects from the Sumitomo Collection, a remarkable collection that can be viewed at the Sen-oku Hakuko Kan, a museum in Kyoto.
The 440-page book introduces ancient Chinese bronzes and calligraphic works and paintings with photographs and commentary in Chinese.
Sen-oku Hakuko Kan exhibits and preserves the Sumitomo Collection, which comprises art objects collected by the Sumitomo family.
The collection is particularly notable for its exquisite ancient Chinese bronzes.
Mr.Lu Zhangshen, the Museum Director of the National Museum of China says that the institution will promote cooperation with Japanese museums because cultural exchange will support peaceful development of the Japan-China relationship. (photo left: Mr.LuZhangshen, the Museum Director of the National Museum of China, and Mr.Ichiro Kominami, the Museum Director of Sen-oku Hakuko Kan)
Besshi copper mine was closed in 1973, after a history of 283 years.The memorial house was opened in 1975 to store and display historical records of the Mine.Of the many copper mines around the world, Besshi Mine is unique in having been continuously operated by one entity (Sumitomo) throughout its long history (since 1691).This contributed to preserving a number of important historical records that would otherwise have been scattered or lost.The building is divided into five areas: 1) history of Izumiya, origin of Sumitomo business; 2) development of Sumitomo business from the opening of copper mines to more recent business diversification; 3) ore collection; 4) the living environment of the people who used to work in the copper mines; and 5) machinery and equipment incorporating modern western technologies.Outside the building is displayed a steam locomotive imported from Germany in 1892 that was used for transporting ore.The building's roof is covered with soil and planted all over with azaleas.The building is widely renowned for these azaleas, and is visited by many people, particularly Niihama citizens, in May, when the bushes bloom a fiery red.
Address:Zipcode 792–0846 Sumino-shinden-cho 3–13, Niihama City, Ehime Prefecture
Hours: 9:00 to 16:00
Closed: Mondays, national holidays (excluding Sundays), year-end and the New Year